Model assessment · Xerox

Xerox Phaser 6360N: wired color printing with 700-sheet input review

An earlier print-only color laser with USB 2.0, 10/100 Ethernet and 150 + 550-sheet ordinary input; automatic duplex needs an upgrade.

Sources checked 2026-10-21 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Xerox Phaser 6360N: wired color printing with 700-sheet input manufacturer reference
Phaser 6360 family manufacturer reference; N automatic print duplex requires the optional upgrade. Additional trays, the Productivity Kit and wireless adapter are optional. Xerox
A useful fit for

A compatible wired office printing ordinary color documents from two useful paper sources without a capture or included-duplex requirement.

The main tradeoff

Automatic print duplex, protected-job storage, wireless hardware and additional trays are separate options; exact body width needs verification.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can Ethernet support Legal color printing with at least 600 ordinary sheets and 12,000 monthly pages?

Yes. Tray 1 and Tray 2 both accept Legal and provide 700 nominal ordinary sheets. The US page’s monthly guidance is up to 14,000 and its declared one-sided Letter rate is 42 ppm. Confirm suitable software, loaded stock and the individual machine’s condition.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the standard USB-connected N model automatically print both sides of Letter paper?

No. Automatic duplex is absent from the N configuration. The N-to-DN upgrade is optional, and a family driver option does not prove that it is installed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the base Ethernet 6360N include PIN-release printing?

No. The read configuration table identifies no included hard drive, and the protected-job functions require the optional Productivity Kit with a disk. Check the actual unit before depending on that optional workflow.

Explore this need in the finder →

A substantial wired color printer with optional upgrades

The Xerox Phaser 6360N fits a compatible office that needs ordinary color documents from two useful paper sources. The included 150-sheet multipurpose tray and 550-sheet main tray provide 700 nominal sheet positions. It is a print-only color laser, so incoming paper capture requires another device.

The N configuration has no included automatic print duplex unit or hard drive. Those options matter when a general family feature list includes two-sided output or protected stored jobs. Xerox identifies Phaser 6360 as no longer sold as new; assess the actual machine, installed hardware and available software before reuse.

Choose the paper source for the whole job

Letter, A4 and Legal fit both standard sources. The nominal capacity count does not specify its paper-weight basis in the preserved reading, and thicker stock reduces usable capacity. The main tray supports media at 65–163 gsm, while Tray 1 accepts a wider 65–216 gsm range with media-specific conditions.

Adjust the guides, select the correct format and type, and keep the stack below its applicable fill line. Tray 1 also has selectable handling modes: its automatic mode gives that source priority when suitable paper is present, while a fixed setup requires the job's size and type to match the panel settings. Check that behavior if a shared office leaves special stock loaded.

The optional 550- and 1,100-sheet feeders can expand the machine to 2,350 sheets. They are not standard N equipment. A tall family illustration or an old driver configuration should therefore prompt a check of the actual installed trays.

Use the documented envelope routine

Envelopes use Tray 1 only, one-sided, with no more than ten loaded. The orientation depends on the format. For #10 Commercial, C5 and B5, the guide places the flaps up with the envelope tops toward the printer's right. Monarch, A7, DL and C6 instead enter bottom first with flaps up.

Set the matching envelope size and type at the printer and in the driver. Use suitable paper envelopes and avoid incompatible windows or metal clasps. The long custom-sheet capability of Tray 1 does not make this a wide-format printer: the documented maximum width remains 8.5 inches, so a long banner is not a Tabloid or A3 sheet.

Connect through USB or 10/100 Ethernet

Standard connections are USB 2.0 and 10/100Base-TX Ethernet. This is not a gigabit network interface. USB serves a compatible directly connected computer; Ethernet serves the configured network, including supported browser administration through CentreWare Internet Services.

Install suitable software for the operating system in use and establish the actual network address. The historical software list is not a guarantee for every present-day computer. The listed wireless network adapter is optional. Check a separately documented mobile arrangement if phone or tablet printing is essential.

Check duplex and confidential printing before relying on them

Automatic two-sided output requires the N-to-DN upgrade. Manual reloading can put images on both faces of suitable stock, but it is a different operator-assisted routine. A family driver displaying a duplex setting does not establish installed hardware.

Secure Print and the related protected or stored-job features require the optional hard drive/Productivity Kit. The standard N has 256 MB memory and no included disk. Print its Configuration page to check installed options rather than assuming a panel password provides confidential document release.

Plan workload, supplies and installation

The US declaration is up to 42 one-sided Letter pages per minute in color or monochrome. The US historical page provides monthly guidance up to 14,000 pages. Its separate 100,000-page duty figure is not the ordinary workload recommendation, and neither figure measures an individual used machine's remaining life.

The older guide declares standard toner at 9,000 black pages and 5,000 per color, with higher-capacity alternatives. That guide uses 5% Letter/A4 coverage, while the current US page gives ISO/IEC 19798 descriptions for its listed supplies. Keep the stated basis with the exact cartridge; starter capacity is unestablished. Imaging, transfer and fuser parts are separate.

The listed body is 22.8 inches deep and 20.2 high at 77.4 pounds. Its inch and millimeter width figures disagree, so check the actual width and allow additional loading, cover and ventilation access. Verify the mains label against the correct electrical edition before installation.

Key details at a glance

Color printingYes
ScannerNo
CopyingNo
FaxNo
Flatbed scannerNo
Automatic document feederNo
Automatic two-sided printingNo
Automatic two-sided scanningNo
Single-pass two-sided scanningNo
Color scanningNo
Instructed envelope handlingYes
Supported PIN-release printingNo
Recommended monthly maximum14000 pages
Maximum monthly duty100000 pages
Included ordinary-paper capacity700 sheets
Declared one-sided mono Letter rate42 pages/min
Declared one-sided color Letter rate42 pages/min
Unit-body depth22.8 in
Unit-body height20.2 in
Unit weight77.4 lb
Imaging enginelaser

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Print-rate conditions

The US Letter-size guide and historical US page declare up to 42 one-sided Letter pages/min in color or monochrome; no measured result, duplex rate or ISO/IEC 24734 basis is asserted. The US page gives monthly guidance up to 14,000 pages, without a minimum. The separate guide duty-cycle figure is 100,000 pages/month and is not used as the ordinary workload recommendation.

Paper handling

Base input is 150 sheets in Tray 1/MPT plus 550 in Tray 2, nominally 700; the preserved count does not state a stock-weight basis. Letter, Legal and A4 fit both. Tray 1 supports media at 65–216 gsm, while Tray 2 supports 65–163 gsm, with different limits for each media type and fill line. The N model does not include automatic print duplex; the N-to-DN upgrade is optional. Additional 550- and 1,100-sheet feeders are optional and the 2,350-sheet expanded maximum is not included. Supported envelopes use Tray 1 only, one-sided and no more than ten; format-specific orientation differs. Long custom MPT sheets remain at most 8.5 in. wide and do not establish Tabloid/A3 support.

Scanning arrangement

This is a print-only color laser with no scanner, copier, original feeder or fax. The evaluator guide’s single-pass color laser discussion describes the print engine, not original capture.

Computer and mobile connections

Included connections are USB 2.0 Type B and Ethernet 10/100Base-TX, not gigabit Ethernet. Use suitable computer software and the actual network address. The listed wireless network adapter is optional. Native AirPrint and Mopria arrangements are unestablished in these read materials; standard network printing is not treated as proof of mobile compatibility. Current OS, protocol and firmware support need checking.

Supplies and declared yields

The February 2010 US guide declares standard black 106R01217 at 9,000 pages and CMY 106R01214/215/216 at 5,000 each; high black 106R01221 is 18,000 and high CMY 106R01218/219/220 are 12,000 each. Its measurement note is 5% area coverage on Letter/A4, not an ISO/IEC 19798 claim. The current US page separately describes its listed standard K/CMY and high-CMY yields under ISO/IEC 19798. Starter capacity is unestablished. Imaging unit, transfer roller and voltage-specific fuser are separate; service-life declarations vary by job length and media. No current cost or coverage is promised.

Software and support

N has 256 MB standard memory and no included hard drive. Secure Print and the other protected/stored-job features require the optional hard drive/Productivity Kit. A driver menu, panel password or another configuration’s installed disk does not make PIN release standard here. Print the Configuration page to verify installed options. Suitable PostScript/PCL software, the selected tray and correct stock settings govern the ordinary computer routine.

Electrical edition and setup

Earlier US 6360N reference, explicitly no longer sold as new. N/DN body depth and height are listed as 22.8 and 20.2 in., with 77.4 lb weight. The guide’s 17.2 in. width and 429 mm width disagree, so exact width remains unresolved and needs actual checking. Allow additional tray, top-cover, side-door and ventilation access. Family power specifications include both 110–127V and 220–240V editions; verify the physical mains label rather than inferring an edition from the English guide.

Sources for this assessment

Find a printer for your routine.

Match color output, scanning, connections and paper handling, then compare the exact models.